IUCrHP2012/QuBS2012

IUCr Commission on High Pressure 2012 Meeting "Advances in Crystallography at High Pressures"

and

International Symposium of the Quantum Beam Science Directorate, Japan Atomic Energy Agency



Mito, Ibaraki, Japan, September 23-27, 2012



IUCr Commission on High Pressure Meeting

The International Union of Crystallography (IUCr) Commission on High Pressure was establised in 1996 and a series of international workshops were held at the ESRF, APS, SPring-8, and in Orsay, Berkeley, Saskatoon, Dubna, Oxford, Harbin and Gatlinburg. This year, to coincide with the opening of a high-pressure beamline at the spallation neutron source in J-PARC, the meeting will be held in Mito with a tour to J-PARC. It will be organized as a joint meeting of the High Pressure Commission and the Quantum Beam Science Directorate, Japan Atomic Energy Agency.

Scope

This workshop will cover the whole range of activities of the Commission. Contributions in all areas within or closely related to the broad area of high-pressure crystallography will be welcome.

Topics (tentative) •Crystal structures, phase transitions and dynamic phenomena •Amorphous, liquid, non-crystalline and nanocrystalline phases •Magnetic and electronic phenomena at high pressure •Organic & Biological systems •Water, ice and other molecular systems •Materials Science •Chemistry •Geosciences and planetary sciences •Theory and computation •Techniques for high-pressure studies

Date

23(Sun) to 27(Thu) September 2012

23 evening: welcome reception,

24-26 morning: scientific sessions,

26 afternoon: a tour to J-PARC in Tokai and a dinner at a hot spring inn in Fukuroda

27 return

Venue

Hotel Lake View Mito, Mito, Ibaraki, Japan

Registration

Registration and abstract submission will be available at IUCrHP2012 official website which will be open in April 2012. The URL of the preliminary web site is http://nsrc.jaea.go.jp/iucrhp2012/

IUCr Commission on High Pressure

Members: P. Dera (USA, Chair), I. Loa (UK, Secretary), S. Redfern (UK, Treasurer), R. Angel (USA), E. Boldyreva (Russia), F. Fabbiani (Germany), G. Galli (USA), Y. Katayama (Japan), A. Katrusiak (Poland), H. Liu (P.R. China), V. Solozhenko (France), Consultants: W. Crichton (France), K. Dziubek (Poland), N. Garg (India), S. Klotz (France), J. Kung (Taiwan), M. Kunz (USA), J. Loveday (UK), R. Nelmes (UK), G. Shen (USA)

Local Organizing Committee

Y. Katayama (Chair), T. Osakabe (Secretary), H. Fukazawa, T. Hattori, A. Sano-Furukawa, H. Yamauchi (JAEA), T. Nagai(Hokkaido Univ.), T. Inoue(Ehime Univ.), T. Iitaka(Riken)

Contact address: iucrhp2012@ml.jaea.go.jp





Fukuroda